What it is

Ramadan is a period of fasting practiced by those with Muslim faith. During the month of Ramadan, Muslims do not eat or drink between dawn and sunset. This fasting allows them to devote themselves to their faith and become closer to Allah.

The Five Pillars of Islam

The 5 Pillars of Islam play a crucial role in Muslim Faith, they are obligations that each and every Muslim must satisfy in order to live a good and responsible life according to Islam.

The 5 Pillars of Islam are:

  • Shahada
    • Sincerely reciting the Muslim profession of faith
  • Salat
    • Performing ritual prayers in the proper way 5 times a day
  • Zakat
    • Paying an alms (or charity) tax to benefit the poor and needy
  • Sawm
    • Fasting during the month of Ramadan
  • Hajj
    • Pilgrimage to Mecca

More than Fasting

Ramadan is not just about fasting between dawn and sunset, it is also a time for spiritual reflection, to do good deeds, to pray and to spend time with friends and family.

It is common for people to reach out to their community and to help those that are in need.


Many Muslims will get together with friends and family to have a meal after sunset called iftar. They will also have a meal before dawn known as suhoor.

Why now?

Ramadan does not have a set start and end date, instead it takes place during the 9th month of the Islamic Calendar and this date changes annually.

Ramadan takes place during this month as this is when the Qur’an was firth revealed to the Prophet Muhammad.

Eid al-Fitr

The end of Ramadan is marked with a three-day festival known as Eid al-Fitr, or The Festival of the Breaking of the Fast. It begins with the first sight of the new moon and celebrates not only the end of fasting, but it also thanks Allah for the help and strength given during Ramadan.